Sometimes, it's just a cigar

This is our truth, tell us yours

Maslow, Mistletoe and magic wands.

It is a fact whatever some might say, that no one needs sex, it makes life better, so much better, and if someone doesn’t have the ability to make good use of their left, or right, hand (We dont discriminate here)help may be needed for those glorious orgasms..  Sex though is a want not a need, and it might be said that kink is even less of a necessity than common or garden lights off, socks on sex (Many thanks to Stavvers for that brilliant description of the kind of sex I hope I never have)

Except…my mind is drawn to Maslows hierarchy of needs, for those not familiar with it, he devised it in the 50s as a way of trying to show the conditions necessary for what he called self actualisation. I wrote about it here, and its limitations.  Being the best we can be is always a laudable aim, and if we are to become that self-aware, self actualized human being, content and at peace surely sex can be a part of that?

This question matters to me because over the past (redacted because I can’t believe it is that long) years I have explored my sexuality and sexual desires in a way I never expected possible when a woman I fancied took me by the hand and suggested I accompany her to the dungeon at a swingers party. Not only do I know more about my limits, my dark places and my capabilities than I ever believed but I also know the exploration is not over.

If there is one word to sum up this year, and that is always so hard, it would be trust. People say that trust is an intrinsic part of BDSM, but trust is a process not a one time deal.  This has been a year of wax falling, the hiss of a blow torch,  remaining stiller than I ever believed possible. It has been a year of tears falling as I realised I was accepted, and tears falling as I thought I had fucked up again, and discovered there were solutions. It has been a year of being pushed, broken, and put back together again whilst floating in a safe oasis. It has been a year of discovering I will not be abandoned, and in learning to trust I also learn to trust myself.

So, as the year draws to a close I raise a glass, still here, still smiling and counting down until 2014, and the new experiences it will bring. Knowing I cannot know what is planned, but also trusting they will be amazing.

christmas-holly-basket.jpg (600×380)

Wicked Wednesday... be inspired & share...

8 comments on “Maslow, Mistletoe and magic wands.

  1. Marie Rebelle
    December 24, 2013

    I love how you use a management theory, hint at a sex toy and then look back on this year and forward to the next. 2013 has been a year of growing for me to and yes, I too am looking forward to what will be planned for me in 2014. New experiences, new lessons, new people.

    Merry Christmas to you and yours, sweetie!

    Rebel xox

    Like

    • jemima2013
      December 27, 2013

      thank you and lets hope 2014 is fabulous for both of us

      Like

  2. Molly
    December 26, 2013

    Yep… 2013 has been a pretty amazing year and I look forward to 2014, trusting that it will be worth the wait and the anticipation of future delights

    Mollyxxx

    Like

    • jemima2013
      December 27, 2013

      i think it will, your 2013 has been pretty stellar, and i await your turner prize!

      Like

  3. I’ve dipped my toes into new experiences over the last couple of years. I’ve learnt things about myself, pain thresholds and new pleasure centres. May thus continue into the new year.

    Like

    • jemima2013
      December 27, 2013

      for both of us!

      Like

  4. Kinky Mia
    December 27, 2013

    Bring on 2014 and all that it brings……..

    ~Mia~ xx

    Like

    • jemima2013
      December 27, 2013

      ues, hope you have a fabulous 2014

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 24, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

