Sometimes, it's just a cigar

This is our truth, tell us yours

Dear Jessie

Apparently JessieJ wants us to stop talking about her sexuality.

She’s caught in the paradoxical trap of demanding privacy by making a public statement. Demanding that people stop talking about your sexual preferences by talking about your sexual preferences is never a good option.

That’s the position Jessie J is in though. She told us she was bisexual, and now she tells us she just wants a husband and a family.

I doubt Jessie will read this. If I really thought she would I’d try and explain that a cock and balls aren’t required for a husband, or for a family that creates a loving environment in which to bring up children.

Instead I’ll say just this. Being bi and identifying as bi are two different things, and they’re individually defined. I am not actively bisexual right now, but might be again in the future. I certainly was bi in the past, and never experienced my preferences as just a phase I was going through.

The loose language used by a pop star about her sexuality should surprise no-one. Being disappointed by it should be a surprise – Jessie J is, when all is said and done, just a chanteuse and occasional songwriter, not a moral arbiter and hero. Should anyone be surprised if her bisexuality is, like her fleeting pop career, just a phase she went through?

6 comments on “Dear Jessie

  1. Wickedjulia
    April 9, 2014

    Young is cured with time. Stupid take more effort.

    Like

    • jemima2013
      April 11, 2014

      lol now i agree with that 😀

      Like

  2. jemima
    April 9, 2014

    You write about bisexuality better than anyone I know and have helped me understand my own sexuality so much.

    Like

  3. michey1978
    April 10, 2014

    Nobody likes being put in the wrong box Carter. You have a very fluid concept of identity, I’d like to think so do. Ms. J doesn’t. That is sad but I don’t think we can deny her her boxes.

    Like

  4. carter2011
    April 10, 2014

    I agree Michey. I’m more disappointed by the search for a deeper meaning to it than just another pop singer saying whatever is on her mind today.

    Like

  5. punterthoughts
    April 11, 2014

    there is an element of bocuriousity in most people although many would not admit to this being the case. Most people are (mainly) gay or straight, but I would be astounded if there is a single person in history who has not, at some point in their life wondered what it would be like to have sex with a person of the same gender.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 9, 2014 by in Uncategorized.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

