Sometimes, it's just a cigar

This is our truth, tell us yours

Fifty Shades of Life on Mars – part fifteen

We see ANA in the hospital bed again. The screen shimmers,and we hear the Teletubbies music. Dipsy and LaLa are standing by one of the voice trumpets, as if they are trying to listen. The screen shimmers again and JOHN the busker appears. He is wearing a scruffy duffle coat and playing a battered acoustic guitar while singing in a Scouse accent.

JOHN: Would you hold my hand
If I saw you in heaven?
Would you help me stand
If I saw you in heaven?

I’ll find my way
Through night and day,
‘Cause I know I just can’t stay
Here in heaven.

Time can bring you down,
Time can bend your knees.
Time can break your heart,
Have you begging please, begging please.

Beyond the door,
There’s peace I’m sure,
And I know there’ll be no more
Tears in heaven.

Would you know my name
If I saw you in heaven?
Would it be the same
If I saw you in heaven?

You must be strong
And carry on,
‘Cause I know you don’t belong
There in heaven.

ANA is struggling in the bed. VERA stands to one side, watching, and making notes on  a clipboard. BROOK is behind her.

BROOK: Are you making notes? We’ve seen this so many times.

VERA:No.Rehab plan. She’ll need great care if she pulls through, if she wants to pull through. We all have to be on the same team though Brook.

BROOK: I know.

VERA: The diary, the inner goddess stuff. We have to make it clear it was just an affectation, a literary joke from a clever girl who’d read too many books, not a sign of psychosis.

BROOK: She’ll be  a useless witness if she goes into la-la land.

VERA: Rehab, preparation, after care, she’ll need it all. And his wealth means it will be a celeb fest. One word to the wrong journalist and she’ll be ripe for trial by tabloid.

BROOK: Ever wonder if it’s all worth it Vera?

VERA: Always, and I always get the right answer. Don’t you?

BROOK: Yes, but I’m glad it’s a decision,not an act of faith.

VERA: Faith? Faith is believing in heaven and hell. This job means knowing they’re man made objects.

The screen shimmers, and John’s voice reprises the last two stanzas of the song.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 14, 2015 by in Fifty Shades of Life on Mars.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

