Sometimes, it's just a cigar

This is our truth, tell us yours

A fictional Interlude.

Stories are part of the story around Carter and my relationship. Part seduction tool, part way of admitting desires and checking out with the other how they felt about about X.Y. or Z. And of course we both like writing, or perhaps its deeper than that, we both need to write. Sometimes the things we write are very private, sometimes they are unlikely to interest anyone else, but not all the time, or at least I hope not.

Over the time we have been communicating through stories hundreds have been lost, broken computers, lost emails, abandoned websites, and very few shared, Posting on literoterica just led to more requests to “kneel bitch, and write something for me” than I was interested in. Carter may or may not still post in other places, I have never asked, but if he does I know they will not be those stories that are a conversation. Those are the stories that interest me the most. Writing is supposed to be a room of ones own, a lonely garrot. Personally I think thats so much middle class wank, Woolfe as classist as her intellectual granddaughters over at the New Statesman.

Both Carter and I come from oral traditions (stop snigering) stories are not the production of a tortured soul with a household of servents to create the illusion of being cut off from the world.When one of us starts a story, and the other plays with the idea, turns it into something else, we are honouring that tradition.

Which is a very long winded way of saying, Carter wrote a thing, and I wrote a thing, and neither are finished, and I am putting them on Tumblr, I hope you enjoy.

7 comments on “A fictional Interlude.

  1. queerieme
    March 15, 2015

    Please both continue with this it’s lovely to read.

    Jemima, your writing has really touched on the world I see and taken that world to fantasy levels. *bows*

    Like

    • jemima2013
      March 17, 2015

      oh my, thank you 🙂

      Like

  2. ValeryNorth
    March 15, 2015

    One of those things that sound great as a fantasy, and then I realise I don’t quite seem to fit in (which is like most places in r/l anyway…).

    I’d kind of like to roleplay three (or even four) versions of me approaching “Matt” to see whether they could fit, or not.

    Alternatively, wonder how I’d design a sister establishment where things fit one or more of those “mes”.

    Like

    • cartertheblogger
      March 16, 2015

      Oddly, my brain has run off with the original idea towards a explanation of what this story means, rather than where it goes. I may fictionalize the outcome, but the insight I’ve had kind of fits with what you’ve just said.

      Like

      • jemima2013
        March 17, 2015

        hopeful face 🙂

        Like

    • jemima2013
      March 17, 2015

      I think thats part of stories being a conversation, not the tortured soul wandering lonely as a cloud. How woul dMatt react? Of course only Carter can say how his Matt would react, and why, but once a character is created they no longer belong just to the creator.

      Like

      • ValeryNorth
        March 17, 2015

        It’s interesting to think in terms of story-conversations, because that’s essentially what a roleplay is: two or more composers taking it in turns to add more. I struggle to engage with others’ characters, as a writer, because they feel outside of me; the characters I create feel “inside” me. But to meet those characters in between two creators always feels vibrant.

        Of course, if I do try to create my own version as a “sister establishment”, then that would itself be a conversation of sorts. Any time ideas spin off other ideas, it’s part of that exchange.

        Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 15, 2015 by in Uncategorized.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

