Sometimes, it's just a cigar

This is our truth, tell us yours

7 songs in 7 days; The jem version.

When I read Carters post this morning, on the personal resonance the Tom Robinson song Coldharbour Lane has for him I smiled, but I thought there was no way I could contribute. My taste in music is eclectic and I have none of the knowledge of music he does. However as he wisely pointed out the point is songs with resonance, with personal meaning rather than writing an encyclopedia.

Given his first suggestion my choice was obvious. As a child I didnt even know the word queer. As I mentioned on twitter last night I did know I liked girls though, even if that knowleged confused me. My version of doctors and nurses involved a friend, showing each other the parts of the body we were meant to keep hidden, and most certainly never touch. I still remember the way so few words were needed between us, as if we recognised something within each other.

Yet I also knew I liked boys, it was confusing, sometimes scary, the word queer was unheard of.

But one person I did know, did hear, did like, was David Bowie, who I discovered via this song;

Throughtout my teens liking Bowie became almost its own hanky code, the geeks, freaks and baby queers who it was safe to be around all loved Bowie, our thin white duke. Then one day I read his biography and saw, for the first time the word bisexual. Finally there was a word for being me.

They got a message from the Action Man
“I’m happy. Hope you’re happy, too.
I’ve loved. All I’ve needed: love.
Sordid details following.”

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 25, 2015 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

