Sometimes, it's just a cigar

This is our truth, tell us yours

7 songs in 7 days, the Jem remix, day 2.

I was too young for punk, but one year, for some reason at the kids  Christmas party at the local club I received what could only be described as a punk compilation album. If you are unfamiliar with them, every club, and most workplaces used to have these parties. In a good year I would make at least 4. Some provided the presents, others a parcel would be surreptitiously passed from hand to hand. Given that there were upward of 200 kids  from one of the North Easts largest, and roughest council estates at this one the fact my present came from woolies bargain bin makes sense.

So it was in this strange way, I was introduced to the Jam,  XTC, The Undertones, and of course, The Buzzcocks. 

 

This was the song of my teenage years, desperately in love (or so I believed) with my best friend. Looking back I think she even knew, but was too kind to point out just how damn annoying lost puppies are. Its perhaps inevitable that we grew apart, she was straight and I was a queer cliche. I dont think she ever meant to hurt me, but slowly  I was frozen out of our friendship group. Which probably did me as huge favour as I realised if I ever wanted to fit in I was going to have to move away from home. I dont think any ever captured how it feels when you fall for someone straight than Pete Shelley.

You spurn my natural emotions
You make me feel I’m dirt
And I’m hurt
And if I start a commotion
I run the risk of losing you
And that’s worse

 

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 26, 2015 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

