Sometimes, it's just a cigar

This is our truth, tell us yours

The next time

this is a poem about rape, you wont like it 

I just want to be able to scream the next time I am raped

is it too much to ask

to scream

to hear footsteps running down the hall

to feel arms around me, to be comforted

the first time I literally did not know how to stay stop

a correct use of literally in a poem, I deserve extra points for that

in the lexicon of rape poems, of screams into the night

literally not knowing the words for stop, please stop, please no more

should surely get extra marks for grammar, if nothing else.

The next time I am raped I just want to scream stop

and not worry about the investigation

about the people who will say I brought it on myself

that since I cannot consent, this was inevitable

inevitable,

because thats all I am,

someone to be raped

thats how you see me,

and who is the you of this piece?

Not you, not the concerned liberal, who has feelings

who wants to debate, as I am raped

who sees both sides, as the hand is pressed over my mouth

who worries about objectification as I become an object, lost in myself

the first time I was raped I did not know the words

the first time I was raped I could not scream,

the last time I was raped I could not scream

the first time I was raped no one could hear me

the last time I was raped no one wanted to hear me

once I was a child, now I am a sex worker,

once I was raped

twice I was raped

times beyond counting, I was raped.

and you turn away, because I repeat that word

rape

rape

rape

an ugly word, shall we chose a nicer one?

a word that means you do not turn away

is there such a word?

 

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 16, 2016 by in Uncategorized and tagged , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

